Yeoville Day 18: “Praise Jesus hallelujah”

TEAMWORK:  Lutho and Percy accompanied me to get some of my footage today.  Photo: Lameez Omarjee

TEAMWORK: Lutho and Percy helped me get some of my footage today. Photo: Lameez Omarjee

*As part of the in-depth research project, one of the requirements of the BA Honours in Journalism and Media Studies degree at Wits University, students are required to write daily blog entries to show the progress of their projects. This year the theme is Yeoville and students have to take on a topic that tells a story that is Yeoville specific.

We had an eventful day.  I started by checking the footage I got on Sunday.  Good news is, it’s in focus, so I don’t have to reshoot.  The bad news is, Percy has to reshoot her interview because the footage is not in focus.  Problem:  When she wanted to arrange an interview with her subject, she found out the woman had given birth!  So we spent the day doing damage control, finding a new subject for her!  Luckily in Yeoville, there are many designers and we found three!

I was pleased with the day’s events. I managed to finish my vox pops.  I had to beg people but eventually I found four people willing to speak.  I also collected the rest of my B-roll.  I managed to get hold of the Presbyterean church to ask them a few questions for my written feature too.  They sublet their hall to Cornerstone church and I hadn’t spoken to them until my mentor highlighted it.  So I think everything is on track, just not looking forward to writing the third draft.

If he’s ever carried a tripod, he’d know that it doubles as a self-defence weapon.

Lutho‘s people bailed on her too.  So we couldn’t get footage of them.  But we found the expert she was looking for her written feature.  We forgot the directions to the house, but we asked these guys on the side of the street.  They thought we wanted to buy weed.  Once we clarified that we were not interested in the green leaves being shoved in our faces, we followed them to a house on Rockey street.  Percy whispered to me, “We could be lead to a slaughter house for all we know”.  She was right, but I think God was on our side today, we had a lot of strange experiences.

BETWEEN TAKES:  We found a resting palce in someone's backyard.  Photo: Lameez Omarjee

BETWEEN TAKES: We found a resting place in someone’s backyard. Photo: Lameez Omarjee

Twice, people we interviewed told us to watch our equipment and said Yeoville isn’t safe.  One man asked us if we had security with us … If he’s ever carried a tripod, he’d know that it doubles as a self-defence weapon.  We haven’t had major incidents, but today on Rockey street, a guy opened my bag.  I felt it and turned around, he denied it.  I’m glad he didn’t take anything, that was close!

 One man approached us and asked us to tell his story.  He said he was scammed, the fridge he bought did not come with the food and wine in it, as advertised … That was a laugh, but I think he was serious.

I was really grateful the girls helped me.  We sang a little karaoke while we walked the streets and bonded over the fries Lutho bought us for suppper at McDonalds.   then we We waited the whole day in Yeoville, just so that I could shoot for 20 minutes after 7pm.  It was scary walking in Yeoville at night, but there we were, praying in McDonalds to be safe before walking to the church.

We got footage of Rookshana Visagie at the Thursday night group meetings.  They threatened me, I better use the footage they stayed out late to get.

 

Leave a Reply

