Yeoville Day 17: Rap God

MODERN POETRY:  Today we got footage of some of the local yeoville artists performing their pieces at Rasta House.

MODERN POETRY: Today we got footage of some of the local Yeoville artists performing their pieces at Rasta House. Photo: Lameez Omarjee

*As part of the in-depth research project, one of the requirements of the BA Honours in Journalism and Media Studies degree at Wits University, students are required to write daily blog entries to show the progress of their projects. This year the theme is Yeoville and students have to take on a topic that tells a story that is Yeoville specific.

Today I lost Lutho‘s money, R43 to be exact.  She gave me R50 to give to the taxi driver.  I assumed she got her change back, until later the afternoon it dawned on me that I should have been the one who took the change.

Thankfully Lutho is a calm person.  The worst she said was: “What the F#*K Lameez!” Then she bent over and laughed.

I helped her get footage for her multimedia.  We recorded some artists in the area, they had a rap battle.  I was handling the sound so I heard everything, from “Buy this boy Pampers”  to “I’ll penetrate till I ejaculate”.  I told them they had to repent after the session.  My eardrums suffered a beating.

Fortunately for us, we came out alive.  Fortunately for them, they did too.

Then we went to some guy’s house, his name is Lay.  We shot footage of one of the artists, BK for a song writing sequence there.  Fortunately for us, we came out alive.  Fortunately for them, they did too.  People are really trusting, we could’ve been  serial killers but they let us shoot in their house.

The weather held up for us until 5pm when we had to go to the church to get some of my footage.  We were brave to face the rain, but we quit when it started hailing.  Lucky for us, it stopped and we got to the church in time.  We waited till 6.15 pm but decided to leave because the pastor wasn’t coming through.

Tomorrow I have to do voxes and finish the B-roll.  My infographic is still in progress.

I managed to get hold of the NPO person, dealing with church registrations.  Her input was really helpful, I could possibly add that to my written feature and some of it will be good for the narration of my multimedia.

I can’t believe there’s four days left in Yeoville.  I’m worried, I hope I have everything I need.  Helping people shoot takes an entire day’s work and I don’t think the load is shared equally between all group members.  I hate feeling like I have to beg people for help.  When I help people, I do the job as if it’s my own work, but I’ve realised people don’t think that way.  It’s disappointing.

 

Leave a Reply

