Yeoville Day 14: Taking taxis

*As part of the in-depth research project, one of the requirements of the BA Honours in Journalism and Media Studies degree at Wits University, students are required to write daily blog entries to show the progress of their projects. This year the theme is Yeoville and students have to take on a topic that tells a story that is Yeoville specific.

Of all the five years I’ve been living in Johannesburg, I haven’t taken as many taxis as I have this whole in-depth project.

Sure in the beginning I was skeptical and was concerned about my safety.  But after the first three times, getting to know the route better I managed to ease myself into things.  I could take a taxi by myself now, which shows the progress because I’ve always depended on going with my friends.

I feel more South African because of it.  Speaking of South African, today we walked across the Nelson Mandela bridge, that’s a big deal especially because I know people who have been mugged on that very bridge.  So I’ve faced a lot of the fears I have of the big city.

It’s like a little hipster village in the middle of the city.

I accompanied Percy to Maboneng Precinct (we took a taxi), she had to go see one of the designers for her feature.  It’s like a little hipster village in the middle of the city.  It’s ridiculous, people paying for overpriced  food and fashion.

WHEN IS ART NEVER COMPLEX?:  Percy and I went to Maboneng Precinct to speak to a fashion designer and stumbled across some of the paintings and crafts on sale at Arts On Main.  Photo: Lameez Omarjee

WHEN IS ART NEVER COMPLEX?: Percy and I went to Maboneng Precinct to speak to a fashion designer and stumbled across some of the paintings and crafts on sale at Arts On Main. Photo: Lameez Omarjee

The only thing I liked were these paintings with maths equations embedded in them.  It reminded me of my old rebel maths teacher and then I had a young flashback of all the good times in maths class (genuinely).

I must say asking taxi drivers to sign our sheets for the money we have to reclaim is exhausting.  They don’t want to sign and we want our money!  Seven rand taxi rides is a lot after a week, I really hope we do get our money back.

I managed to get same great footage of the service at Cornerstone Yeoville today.  We found Rookshana Visagie at the church, so instead of shooting her walking to church, we did some sequences of her at home, getting ready, packing her bible.  Lutho says we got some great shots, I’m trusting her because she did the TV course in June.

This time round more people at the church spoke to us, they’re really curious about what we’re doing.  Lutho explained her research too.  We’re really getting comfortable in this environment.

I also managed to ask Joe Muthee some more questions.  I will be returning to Cornerstone on Thursday evening to get more footage.

This is going to be a tough week with our shooting schedules, I’m not even half way with mine but just looking at all the footage I’m going to have to go through, YIKES.  So I still have to go get my voxes from Yeoville residents, then I need to get footage at another church meeting and speak to that pastor and film my researcher  and maybe get some more B-roll.  In the meanwhile my second draft has to be written.

To read Lutho Mtongana’s version of the day’s events, click here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

