Yeoville Day 13: Do you want to talk about ‘cheesus’?

LIKE FIRE:  members of the youth at the Glorious Church had a session of prayer before listening to the preach on having a relationship with God and not just being a servant.  Photo: Lameez Omarjee

LIKE FIRE: Members of the youth at the Glorious Church had a session of prayer before listening to the preach on having a relationship with God and not just being a servant. Photo: Lameez Omarjee

*As part of the in-depth research project, one of the requirements of the BA Honours in Journalism and Media Studies degree at Wits University, students are required to write daily blog entries to show the progress of their projects. This year the theme is Yeoville and students have to take on a topic that tells a story that is Yeoville specific.

I started writing up my second draft.  It’s going slow but I can see a difference from the way I wrote the first time.  My train of thought is clear and there’s a theme in my writing, I have a better perspective of what I want to achieve in the feature.

We went to  Yeoville later in the afternoon.  Ritually, we started off at Rasta House.  We spoke to rasta, Sister Lulu, who explained her anti-conformist lifestyle.  She said that women have lost their femininity and that they have sold out to the cosmetics industry.  She also advised us journalists to read up on studies about civilisation.  She said she wrote a book in 2006, which was popular amongst Witsies.  She sold up to 2000 copies in two months.

It was quite refreshing to immerse myself in the service.

I ended up visiting the Glorious Church on Kenmere Street.  The youth had a meeting, but they didn’t go out and evangelize.  I got some great stills,  I’ll use them for my multimedia.  The youth were really hospitable, they even invited me to join the prayer circle.  So once I put my camera down it was quite refreshing to immerse myself in the service.

The preach was about having a relationship with God and not just being a servant.  They pray a lot throughout the service.  They also stand up every time they read the bible to “honour the word of God”.  I took a few good shots of them reading.  I managed to record them worshiping, hopefully the sound will be good enough to use in my multimedia.

I had to rush off to catch a taxi with Nqobile and Rofhiwa but they invited me back to another meeting.  I was really surprised by their warmth, I think I made a few friends.

Tomorrow we shoot!  I’m nervous and excited at the same time.  I hope everything runs smoothly, and that there’s no bad weather.

Leave a Reply

