Yeoville Day 12: Keep calm

*As part of the in-depth research project, one of the requirements of the BA Honours in Journalism and Media Studies degree at Wits University, students are required to write daily blog entries to show the progress of their projects. This year the theme is Yeoville and students have to take on a topic that tells a story that is Yeoville specific.

Today I had a chance to go over my first draft with my mentor, which helped because I could see where I was going wrong.  Now my writing will be more focused, I have a second draft to complete before Tuesday!

I am going to focus mainly on Cornerstone church and less on the second one, saving it for my multimedia.  So it seems I will have to meet up with Joe Muthee again to ask about the things I missed before.

I noticed that I missed the obvious things in my draft.  It had all of the information, but not the “colour”.  Basic things like the atmosphere in the church, the size of the room, the people attending, I overlooked that!  Also minor things like where he’s from or what’s his day-job.  I think it’s easy to forget or disregard those things in the pressure of collecting information and multimedia, especially with a ticking clock.

REVELATIONS:  Rastafarians believe Haile Selassie I, Emperor of Ethiopia, was the second coming.  Photo:  Lameez Omarjee

REVELATIONS: Rastafarians believe Haile Selassie I, Emperor of Ethiopia, was the second coming. Photo: Lameez Omarjee

I also went over the storyboard with my video mentor, so I’m feeling optimistic about it.  I just hope that we won’t be too constrained by the time on Sunday.  I’m going to have to ask tough questions about money.  So I have to pick my words right, because I don’t want to block my access by offending someone.

I tried to get shots of churches but it’s pointless when there is no activity around them.  So tomorrow and Sunday will be good for those photos.

My NPO person says she was stuck in a training session, so we rescheduled.  Not delighted about that.

I spent some time at Rasta House with Rofhiwa and Bongiwe.  There was a whole debate about their belief system and how it’s different to Christianity.  It aggravated me a bit because I’m a Christian and I didn’t agree with some of the things they said.  This experience has been a culture shock for me.  If I wasn’t a journalist, I would never be out in Yeoville, of my own accord.

It taught me to distance myself and remain objective (which is probably the first rule in journalism).    It comes into play a lot when I deal with my subjects. I don’t want to undermine their beliefs with my story but I don’t want to sound like an ignorant journalist either.

Leave a Reply

