Yeoville Day 10: What a bust

*As part of the in-depth research project, one of the requirements of the BA Honours in Journalism and Media Studies degree at Wits University, students are required to write daily blog entries to show the progress of their projects. This year the theme is Yeoville and students have to take on a topic that tells a story that is Yeoville specific.

WATCHING AND WAITING:  Lutho and I spent most of the day waiting for our appointments, at least the reggae music at Tandoor was entertaining.  Photo: Lameez Omarjee

WATCHING AND WAITING: Lutho and I spent most of the day waiting for our appointments, at least the reggae music at Tandoor was entertaining. Photo: Lameez Omarjee

So after 3 missed calls and waiting a whole 30 minutes for my NPO person to arrive, she told me she forgot about our meeting. I was furious.

Firstly, I left early to help get B-roll with Luca and Lutho, thinking I would be doing something constructive before our meeting. If I knew the meeting wouldn’t be happening today I could’ve finished my draft and met up with Lutho later. Now I’m stuck in Yeoville, with no laptop.

The only good thing is that I managed to ask Joe Muthee my last few questions this morning. We went to Tandoor House to see how we could set up the camera for tonight.

I’ve never been hot-boxed before

I’ve never been hot-boxed before, but there are no windows in the room the artists are performing in tonight. So I’m not thrilled about the nonexistent ventilation and second-hand smoke.

Lutho gave me a few visual ideas for my multimedia. So that’s still hanging in the air. Everything sounds better in theory, actually shooting will have it’s own challenges.

I’d still feel much better if I was working on my draft. It’s halfway done at least. But I hate doing things halfway.

Leave a Reply

